The Little Sparta Trust

The Little Sparta Trust was established in 2005 with the aim of preserving Little Sparta and maintaining and enriching access to the garden of Ian Hamilton Finlay. Finlay generously gave ownership of the garden, his home and its contents to the Trust and therefore its core and continuing responsibility is to preserve the garden to his exacting standards.

The Trust’s founding and current chair is Magnus Linklater and its current Trustees are: Neil Firth, Theresa Froehlich, Richard Ingleby, Iain McFadden (Treasurer), Prof. Andrew Patrizio, Prof. Paul Stirton, Camilla Toulmin, Ann Uppington and Nicky Wilson.

The Trustees are supported in their work by Administrator Pantea Cameron, Head Gardener George Gilliland and volunteers.

The Little Sparta Trust works in partnership with a number of organisations, trusts and foundations to support and develop its work. If you would like to support Little Sparta please click here.

Creative Scotland
The Barcapel Foundation
The Calouste Gulbenkian Foundation
The Charities Aid Foundation America
The Dunard Fund
The Esmée Fairbairn Foundation
The Finnis Scott Foundation
The Foyle Foundation
The Henry Moore Foundation
The Monument Trust
The Mushroom Trust
The Portrack Charitable Trust
The Ronnie Duncan Art Foundation
The Rootstein Hopkins Foundation
The Samuel Storey Family Charitable Trust
The Stanley Smith Horticultural Trust
The Rothschild Foundation
The Binks Trust
The Stuart Heath Charitable Trust